LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VERY basic - how to decide what type of architecture to use?

Forgive me if I'm breaking any forum rules with this post - I'm very new to this.

I'm trying to write a Labview program to perform a functional test on an electronic product.  The test is fairly sequential - plug in the unit, apply a certain voltage, step up the voltage until the unit turns on, then turn on an electronic load, measure the load voltage, then step up the input voltage again, etc.  The power supply and electronic load that I'm using both have Labview drivers. 

I'm brand new to Labview, and I have no resources in my company to help me out.  I have taken the Core 1 and 2 training class.  The problem is, I'm not really sure how to start.  Would this be a producer/consumer architecture?  A QSM?  I've been scouring these forums the past couple of days, but most of the discussions are advanced.  I don't understand all the acronyms.  A lot of the replies here assume you have some knowledge of Labview, and I don't.  Part of the problem is that I don't even know enough to ask a specific question, and that's why this post is so vague.

I'm a competent PLC/HMI programmer but don't have any experience in other languages.

I also want to be able to use variables for my limits so that I can easily change the pass/fail limits.  (For instance, I want the voltage and current pass/fail limits to be configurable from a "maintenance" screen on the Labview interface, but I don't know how to create multiple screens or password protect them).

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,020 Views)

I forgot to add, I will be repeating certain steps often.  (For instance, verifying that the output voltage and current of the unit are within certain limits... I do this at least 3 or 4 times in the course of the test).  Does this mean a queued state machine would not make sense?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,018 Views)