cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using delete from array in a very large array situation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I have been a labview developer for a number of years, and I am always trying to get better in the way that I think about things. I am an engineer, but I am not what you might call a "hard core" programmer. In any event, my goal is always to learn, and that brings me to my question. 

No code to post at the moment, just getting ready for a project, and want to make sure I am starting the right way. So I will be dealing with some very large binary 1D arrays. Probably on the order of 1Gb or so. I will be reading in the entire thing at once with a "Read from binary file" function. I am going to need to scan through all of this data to "clean" some of the data out of it. Apparently there are occasional "glitches" in it, so I will be doing some sort of pattern search. 

I am aware of memory issues that can arise when using very large arrays. Such as never use a build array inside of a loop, because every time the array grows, it will not actually just append to the array in memory, it will create a brand new array. Do that too many times with a large array, and you will kill you computer pretty quickly.  So what I was going to do, is read in the array, and then do my pattern searching inside of a loop with shift registers. Basically I was going to keep track of my array index, and maintain the entire array in the shift register, then I would delete sections of the main array as needed, until the array that remains is now "clean".