cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using LabVIEW and a USB-6008 for data acquisition

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am relatively new to LabVIEW and am hopeless stuck. Currently I am attempting to trend data from a temperature sensor. I am using a USB-6008 to sample the data. I have made a VI that is able to trend the data. I would ideally like to export this data to an Excel spreadsheet.

My original plan was to run my VI and then right-click on the waveform graph and export the data to Excel. When I run my VI; it will run for a set number of samples, or for a fixed duration. I am able to receive data and I know it is in the ballpark (I have a DMM in parallel). The problem is that the data will overwrite itself once my preset number of samples, or fixed duration, has been realized. This is a problem because I potentially need to collect up to an hours worth of data. I have not been able to figure out how to get the data to trend continuously without writing over previously collected data. This is a lot of data and LabVIEW has already yelled at me for overloading it.

I have attached my VI so everyone can see what I have done. I believe I have set it to sample once per second. This sample rate should be fine for my purposes. I could even reduce it further but do not know how to sample in samples/min as opposed to samples/sec.

I truly appreciate any help. I have not been able to find anything out there to help so far. It may be because I am not typing my problem using correct vocabulary. Again, I am very much a beginner with all things LabVIEW. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,930 Views)

Hi JJK,

As you said, your VI is currently set to sample one data point (as a DBL) per second.

Since you have it set to "Duration" rather than number of samples, it should return a waveform with 10 points.

As you've already discovered (but maybe not yet understood 😉 ) LabVIEW has both Charts and Graphs.