LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

User Generated Tab Controls (tabbed pages)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Everyone, 

I'm a software engineer who has no experience in LabVIEW. I just started a new job where they would like me to help fix a LabVIEW application that was developed by a third party. This application replaces an existing application where the user could create multiple tabbed windows where they can view sensor readings of their choosing. They can do the same with plots of these readings. Our tests can range in complexity and can contain anywhere from 20-4000 sensors. Hence the need to give the user ability to create their own displays with data in tabular and plot form. 

My question is: 

Could a LabVIEW vi have the ability to allow the user to create new tabbed pages within a window? Not really looking for an explanation of how to do it (but an example would be welcome). I just want to know if it is possible.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 26
(2,008 Views)

If you want to develop a vi then yes it is possible using vi scripting.

If you want to develop an application or exe then it is not possible in run time.

CLD Using LabVIEW since 2013
Message 2 of 26
(1,992 Views)

Thank you. And in order to develop a vi and use vi scripting then I would need a full LabVIEW license for each machine that ran it correct? While an application or exe would just need the runtime? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 26
(1,984 Views)

Yes, you would need a full LabVIEW license for each machine

The RunTime Engine cannot use scripting nodes because it does not have a compiler.  Scripting will only work in the development environment.

CLD Using LabVIEW since 2013
Message 4 of 26
(1,972 Views)

kartiknattar is right: if you want to create controls on-the-fly, you need the full LabVIEW environment.