LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB-6210 ECG setup

Hey everyone,

I just got a new USB-6210 in the lab, and I'm trying to set it up to record EKGs.  I don't have an EKG machine or anything, I'm hoping to be able to do it all with the DAQ.  Does anyone have any experience with this?  Will a simple differential voltage measurement suffice?  Do I need a ground?  How do I need to set up my EKG electrodes on my subject?  I've never tried to do EKG work before, so as you can see I'm completely lost here.  Thanks for any help you can provide.

Matt

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(4,364 Views)

Don't try to record ECG signals directly with a DAQ board - it won't work and it's not safe.

Please read my posting on our Biomedical User Group here:  http://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-4670

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(4,355 Views)
If you are talking about sensing a pulse through the skin using an daq a/d isn't dangerous but you will need a pre amp with some kind of 50/60 hz noise filter at the least.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(4,352 Views)
Dickdrago - it is dangerous to connect a person directly to a DAQ board using low-impedance electrodes/gel.  There is no protection from fault currents originating from the DAQ board and/or computer that may occur for a variety of reasons and no protection to the subject if they inadvertently come into contact with line voltage (the DAQ board and computer will complete the circuit and they will be electrocuted).  Since a preamplifier is needed anyway to provide a true, balanced differential input with a high CMRR with gain and bandpass filtering, this same amplifier can provide the protection needed to ensure the safety of the subject.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 21
(4,339 Views)