LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Type defs do not update

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to using type defs and was under the inpression that if I updated the type def (add or remove a selection) then the instant of the control all the constants linked to the control and cases would be updated.

This does not seem to be the case. I have to delete and reinsert the control, then find every constant in my diagram and delete and reinsert, and It really meses up the cases. I have to remove all the "red" cases and make sure the are no doubles in my cases.

What am I doing wrong here? Type Defs were suppose to make this eaiser?

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,338 Views)

They sould and they do!

Please post a zip of a simple VI (along with the type defs) tht you are having trouble with and someone should be able to help out.

Take care,

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,334 Views)

Do you have "autoupdate from type definition" checked in the properties? (should be checked by default).

Else can you attach a simple example that shows the problem. What is your LabVIEW version?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,331 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author RTSLVU

It sounds like you left the control as a regular "custom control" and did not change it to "typedef".

Or, do you keep the control editor window open when you make a change to the typedef? If so, the change won't propagate until you save and close the control editor or select File->Apply Changes (if you want to keep the control editor window open).

Message Edited by smercurio_fc on 04-30-2009 10:04 AM
Message 4 of 11
(3,325 Views)