LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thermocouple measurement with external reference

Hi there,

I have a hopefully not very specific problem with LabView while using an Agilent 34970A for a thermocouple measurement, which I hope you could help me with

I'm relatively new with LabView, so the solution might be simple, but I can't figure it out myself

I want to measure a temperature using a thermocouple. As the quality of the measurement with a thermocouple is defined by the quality of the measurement of the reference the thermocouple compares to, I want to use an external reference (an almost isothermal device) Unfortunately I'm not able to do that and I can't find any help for this task online, which seems unreasonable to me because I'm surely not the first one to do this. 

I created a VI that initalizes the instrument, defines the channels I want to use and the type of thermocouple (302) which is connected in this set-up. Also I define the external reference. By default, this reference is a 4-W-RTD, set on channel 301 (for me, could also be 101 or 201, if i got this right). I use the latest driver of Keysight to control the Agilent

The VI runs and creates values but it switches the reference back to the internal reference of the Agilent, which is faulty and therefore the tempeartues measured are far away from the real value.

If I start the scan via the interface of the Agilent or if I use the Keysight Bench Link Data Logger3, the measurements are correct, so it should be possible somehow and I hope that I just made a mistake