From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature reading from Keithley 6517B using LabVIEW drivers

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello there, this is my first post and as the name suggests, I am a rookie when it comes to both LabVIEW and Keithley 6517B so if this is a silly question, please go easy on me.

I am trying to get a temperature reading from the 6517B so I have put together this very basic VI using kei6517 drivers downloaded from NI but when I run it, all I get is a voltage reading.

In case you're wondering, yes I have attached the K-type thermocouple to the back of the device and yes I have configured the device for temp measurements and I can see both temp and humidity values in the front panel.

Any help would be much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,079 Views)

I had a look through the driver, and it looks like it is not set up to handle the temperature and humidity stamping that you desire. The default setup string from "Default Instrument Setup.vi" is: 

*ESE 60;*SRE 48;*CLS;:FORM:DATA ASC;:FORM:ELEM READ,RNUM,CHAN,TST,UNIT;:SYST:TST:TYPE RTCL;

Note: if your emoticon display settings for the LabVIEW forums are set to something other than "none" then the SCPI commands can get very emotional.

The part I bolded from determines the format of read data from page 14-53 of the user manual. To get humidity and external temperature as well, you will need to make it read something like:

*ESE 60;*SRE 48;*CLS;:FORM:DATA ASC;:FORM:ELEM READ,RNUM,CHAN,TST,UNIT,HUM,ETEM;:SYST:TST:TYPE RTCL;