LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TDMS file viewer not functioning as expected

I'm new to LV so I'm probably doing something obvious to the battle hardened among you, I'd appreciate a hand!

I've got a cRio that's running a modified version of one of the datalogging examples, and it's logging to its internal memory, which I FTP into and collect when done. But I'm having some issues with viewing it after. I've created a VI on the host system that looks for the TDMS files on the C drive of the host. I log a file with name "data". I copy over the TDMS and TDMS_Index files to the C drive of the host computer and run the TDMS fileviewer VI on the host, which checks for the file existing and opens it. If the file isn't there it complains, of course (but shows old data in the background). If it is there it opens it. However this is where the problems begin.

The index headers for the top of the columns of data seem to be changed inside the files but do not always change in the fileviewer output, and the data seems to never be updated with the new data, despite all files having been erased in between runs. I've tried 4 or 5 re-loggings and always get the old data, and often the old indexes. Out of curiosity I changed the log filename to "data2" and changed the viewer path to the new file, copied it across and opened it and it worked flawlessly. Then delete-all and re-recording with the "data2" filename the problem returns - old data held until filename changed.

The files on the CRio and host are definitely changing each time - their sizes vary when copied across - but the viewer VI doesn't seem to reflect any changes unless the filename is changed on each run, which is a pain. I assumed LV may have some sort of cache of the data, so tried closing LV down each time but it didn't help at all.

Any ideas? As I say, probably something very obvious but I'm new to LV and haven't spotted it.

Cheers

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,061 Views)