LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stop an event from passing from one frame to another with Flat Sequence

Hi! I'm new to LabVIEW and I'm trying to create a simple calculator, I'm using a flat sequence to get the first number with event structure and then get the second number also with event structure also.

So far I'm not able to choose the second number, because when i press the button to choose the first number, the event at the first frame gets triggered, and it also gets passed to the second frame, so the same event goes for the first and second number.

I'm wondering how is it possible to stop the event from passing between the frames automatically? and if there is a better way to do this?

I also tried it with while loop, but the event get passed the same way from one iteration to the another, so the same thing happens.

My VI is attached, thank you for your help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,437 Views)

All you need is one toplevel loop and one event structure with several events.

(Your code makes no sense. Start with some simple tutorials. Learn about the basics of dataflow. Search the forum and examples for calculator to get some ideas.)

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,423 Views)

When using event structures, I would recommend reading up on the caveats and recommendations.

https://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361R-01/lvhowto/caveatsrecmndtnsevnts/