From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solenoid Control on a Cycle

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

Don't worry I searched and read all the similar questions but haven't figured out my issue yet. I'm brand new to Labview and have been tasked to create a system that will control a single solenoid connected to a piston that will run on a cycle for (x) cycles. I have no clue what to do and was hoping for some help, I understand C++ so i'm not completely lost here. Here is a list of what I have and I have been told I can buy anything else I need too.

-cDAQ 9171

-cDAQ 9174 Cradle

-NI 9234 Card

-24V Single Solenoid (5 port/2 way) spring return

All types of wires to connect

I was hoping to create a system where I could enter time on and time off, a cycle count and a cycle end number all on the front panel along with a start and stop button. I also understand the output from the card would only be 5v so I will use a relay to jump the voltage to 24v.

In my head this should be a simple program I just have no idea what to do in Labview. If someone could write a code close to what I need I might be able to tweak it and make it work. If not some pointer in the right direction would help.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,049 Views)

Hi Asissle.  Welcome to LabVIEW!

What you are describing sounds like a nice beginner project, so I expect with a little bit of study you should be able to handle it.  I don't think anyone here will write it for you, but we are happy to help when you get stuck.

I would start by outlining (flowchart if you want, text is fine too) what you want to happen when.  For example:

1. program start
    1. initialize connection to cDAQ