LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulation

How do I draw rotating matrix of lines, like in the picture, in real time?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(2,718 Views)

First, show us what you've already tried....

In general:

1. set up a WHILE loop with a FOR loop inside it
  2. set up an array of (line) start points and an array of end points, probably as a result of a calculation that runs once per iteration of the WHILE loop
  3. Feed the arrays of start and end points into the FOR loop using auto indexing
  4. use picture functions to move the pen to the start point and draw a line to the end point
  5. feed the resulting picture back to the next iteration of the FOR loop using a shift registe

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(2,714 Views)

To be honest I'm new at Labview programming, so I couldn't make anything. Thank you for your advice. I attach my programm below. It's main goal is to simulate the Freedericks transition and the drawing is only a part of it.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(2,676 Views)

You have fallen into a common "trap" regarding LabVIEW -- because it is graphical, and "anyone can draw pictures and make lines", many new users assume that they can just "start using it" without understanding the underlying ideas behind LabVIEW, and without knowing the importance of good Style in creating LabVIEW code that (a) is designed to accomplish the given task, (b) is easy to understand and grasp, and (c) actually works.

A good thing to do is to learn LabVIEW.  At a bare minimum, spend half a day with the tutorials and other materials listed on the first page of this Forum.  If there are exercises, do them all.  Schor's Law -- you can't learn programming by reading a book, but you can learn it by writing Programs and getting them critiqued (and learning from your mistakes).

There are many ways to accomplish the task of "rotating a line" (whatever that means!).  Here's one way: