From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial Port Communication Graphing using PIC32

Solved!
Go to solution

I am sending serial data to labview from a PIC32 specifically the PIC32MX340F512H. I am trying to graph the position of the potentiometer. I have values that are input ranging from 0-1023. When I try graphing it, the graph plots 1 byte each time which is giving me an unwanted graph. For example, for the number 1023 it will plot 1, then 0, then 2, and then 3. How do I fix this problem?

Note: I am a beginner with LABVIEW and have minimal experience. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,269 Views)

What does your incoming data look like?

You are reading 4 bytes at a time.  Are you sending ASCII characters "0" "1" ...  "9"?  Are you they padded with zeroes?  ("1024" is for bytes, but "12" is only 2)

What does your device's code look like?  Are you sending a termination character?  (For a 4 digit number string, you should be reading at least 5 bytes so that you can the 4 characters and the termination character.  If you probe the error wire or put an indicator on it, is it telling you anything?

What is going on with your shift registers?  You have a shift register you are sending data to at the right side of the loop, but you aren't using the left side shift register, just using the plain tunnel.  Either get rid of the ordinary tunnel or get rid of the shift register.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,261 Views)

I am sending ASCII characters but they are read as strings which I converted to numbers from 0-1023 by labview. 

The device code is attached. I am not sending any termination character. I am not sure which error wire you're referring to.