LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial Commands Keithley 2700

Looks like my full original message didn't display properly... so here it is:

I am completely new to LabVIEW. I'm trying to interface with a Keithley 2700 through an RS232 serial connection and am currently lost. I found a few helpful hints online that got me to where I am now, but currently my VI won't take measurements.

I downloaded the Keithley 27XX drivers and they all work on the system I am running, giving me accurate readings. I believe the main issue with my VI is the 'write buffer' string connecting to my VISA Write. I don't know how commands are ordered or phrased for the VISA Write and I can't seem to figure it out just from the manual.

As of right now I am just trying to take a resistance measurement (2 wire) and have it display on my Front Panel.

Anything helps,

myannell

p.s. when I leave the 'write buffer' string blank the VI runs without error

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,903 Views)
Use Help> Find Instrument Drivers and search for 2700. No need to reinvent the wheel.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(6,895 Views)

Original post edited, my second comment is now irrelevant.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(6,885 Views)

I think you need to add a Termination Character to your write string.

From the Keithley manual

Terminator
The Model 2700 can be configured to terminate each program message that it transmits to
the controller with any of the following combinations of <CR> and <LF>.
<CR> Carriage return
<CR+LF> Carriage return and line feed
<LF> Line feed
<LF+CR> Line feed and carriage return

With the correct Termination and Time out get rid of the delay and bytes at port calls

Try a simple *IDN? Command and see if you still get an error.

Simply IDN.png

Omar
Message 4 of 10
(6,859 Views)

I compiled a VI that from the picture above but it just returns read buffer "!!KEITHLEY" and error out code -1073807339. Any ideas?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(6,844 Views)