cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Returning data from a Reg Event Callback to the calling VI

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to LabVIEW and approach it from a C# programming background. I have a DLL library written in C# connected up and a .NET Reg Event Callback listening to an event in the DLL. This part works. I can receive an integer value from my DLL when the event fires - so far so good.

However, having this integer available only in the VI which is referenced by the Reg Event Callback is useless - I need this integer passed back to the calling VI so that I can work with it. I tried wiring a numeric indicator up to an output in the subVI but this generates a function conflict on the wire connecting the Event Callback to the strictly typed VI Ref. Please see the attached illustration.

Please help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,890 Views)

I'm not too familiar with event callbacks but I believe you can do this by passing a queue/user event reference into the 'User Parameter' variant input of the event callback node.

In your callback VI, you can use variant to data to convert back into your queue/event data type and generate the event/enqueue which you can listen to from your calling VI.

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(6,879 Views)

Hi @Sam_Sharp,

I have found an example online which seems to allude to your explanation, but I cannot figure out how it is working or how to use your suggestion. Can you shed any light? The example is attached.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(6,852 Views)

I took the example you gave and modified it as follows to demonstrate what you want to do (whilst also learning something new...like I said I haven't used callbacks much/at all).

In the Callback VI:

2015-01-15_12-58-07.png