cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Resetting a pointer in DLL node

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Everybody,

I am learning how to use the shared library node in labview to access C files. I am new to writing dlls and I am stuck with a simple problem.  Let me explain the problems and requirements clearly.  In the attached C file, I have written a code to perform overflow correction to a 32 bit record returned by the instrument. a typical overflow record will have a hex value like "FE000001". This record in turn is separated by logical operations.

Capture.JPG

DESCRIPTION OF THE C CODE:

"oflcr" is the variable that will be calculated according to the expression inside the if condition, this variable will be accumulated through out the data acquisition time. Next, this dll code will be calledinto labview using the dll node. I have set  the function prototype exactly.  In the labview code the dll is placed in a for loop. My aim is to nitialize the ofl variable to zero whenever I run the code, for which I use a local variable and initialize it to zero. 

Capture2.JPG

In the labview code above, if I introduce the regular record (not an overflow and should be skipped) first then the clk (pointer that points to the ofl variable)data pointer always stores the previous value in the previous run of the program and adds to it any value that is obtained in the currently running program. on the other hand,  If I introduce the overflow record first then the pointer is initialized to zero and everything works fine. 

I cannot understand why this happens. 

Please have a look at the file and help me solving this error. I am stuck in this for  along time. 

thanks for any help!!

Regards

Pradeep

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,519 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author pradeepK

Hi Pradeep,

THINK DATAFLOW!

Get rid of (possible) race conditions and replace your locals variables "clk" by a shift register of the loop!

Also: