From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Representation of while loop in if statement in block diagram

Hello, maybe my question isn't smart but I am a beginner:
how can I use while loop in if statement? I mean how to build block diagram based on pseudocode:

if q<100

{

while (q<110)

q=q+1      //1 iteration per second

}

I've tried to do it with event structure but it has only event when boolean is changing value (problem - in my case I want it to be done only when changing value from 0 to 1 (q<100), not otherwise), case structure (problem - after 1 iteration case (q<100) isn't fullfilled)

My real case is pumping system which turn on the pump every time the flow is lower than 100 l/s and stop pumping when flow is 110 l/s

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,575 Views)

If you are a beginner, have you viewed any of the LabVIEW Tutorials?  Taken any classes in LabVIEW (i.e. at school)?

You should have learned about the Case Statement, which mimic an If statement (if driven by a Boolean comparison, e.g. q < 100) or a Switch Statement (if driven by a integer numeric).  What goes inside the Case structure is what you do in a Case (such as the "True" case of "q < 100").  One thing to remember about a While loop is that the loop always runs at least once, since the test to stop (or to continue) is applied after everything inside the Loop has run.  You also have to remember the rules of Data Flow (and if you don't know what Data Flow means, go back to the first Video Tutorials).

Often, things that vary within a Loop are carried in Shift Registers -- the concept of a "Variable" (like "q") in text languages is, in LabVIEW, frequently carried in "wires".

Bob Schor

0 Kudos