LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Putting a flat sequence on repeat without using a loop

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm very new to LabVIEW so I might have taken a completely wrong approach. I'm trying to acquire measurements from two different devices at approximately the same time every hour. It does that but it currently has to run continuously and I can't use any kind of loop because it creates an error from the DAQmx. However, I'm trying merge this code with something else that doesn't have to run continuously. Any advice? 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,514 Views)

Take a look at State Machines. They are architectures, allowing for transition between different states, e.g. "Initialization", "Test running" or "Idle", "Shutdown" and so forth. The transition logic between this states can be based on user command, timing or on signal levels as well.

If something does not have to run continiously, but only once, then it can be inserted in the "initializatation" state/routine. Your logic can be configured, that it is the first state executed, and that if no errors occur then the next state should be "Test running" for example, where your thermocouple and conductivity action takes place.

Also keep in mind, that connecting blocks with the "error" wire, you can read/capture errors and perform a safe shutdown routine, instead of crashing Labview.

Br

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,508 Views)

How would you suggest performing a safe shutdown, I'm not sure what block to connect. 

Thanks for the advice about State Machines!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(2,478 Views)

Yes, you seem to have a lot of misconceptions about graphical programming and dataflow. Have a look at the shipping examples and design templates for some ideas.

• Do you really need to reconfigure both devices from scratch with every iteration of the timed loop?
  • If both should occur at the same time, why aren't they in the same frame? (and even same inner FOR loop)