LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programming Suggestions Needed for a Control Application

Good day!

I'm an electronics engineer with a fair bit of programming experience in assembly on Microchip PICs. My company is now looking to design PC based instrumentation for control, for which we have bought a USB6008. The company already owns a LabVIEW 8.5 license from around 2 years back.

Anyway, the project is to be done by me and I'm  a novice when it comes to LV.

Project Description:

I need to design a control and data logging application using the USB6008. The USB6008 interfaces to a 4 sensors board (temperature from RTD, temperature from a silicon sensor, pH & conductivity) which 'signal-conditions' to give 0 to +5V outputs for all four. On the output side is a motor that needs to be controlled from 100-1000 RPM, a few relays and some indicator LEDs. The motor speed is read through a 16-tooth gear and a hall-effect sensor.

The instrument runs this way:

1. The front panel gives the user choices:

1a. Does the user want to calibrate the sensor measurements systems (each sensor calibration needs a different calibration process)? According to the choice, open another interface (maybe a window or a tab or something else) that leads the user through the calibration process.

1b. Does the user want to input the set parameters? If yes, open another interface and through numeric controls/knobs input the values?

1c. Does the user want to start the control?

So far I've designed an interface that uses tabs:

Interface Calib.jpg

And the block diagram:

Interface Calib Block.jpg