cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with While Loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I have a problem with a while loop. It doesnt react to the boolean input that i give it, but it just continues to run the SubVI. Can anyone help me? I'm a bit of a newbie so it might be something rather basic. Picture of my VI is attached.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,550 Views)

The loop should stop if you press the Boolean button _unless_ the sub-vi doesn't stop but continues to run forever. You can get a similar feel if the sub-vi takes a very long time, in which case it'll probably stop after next loop, however long that is. This is because the Boolean is 'free' and will be read at the same time as the sub-vi starts, so if you press it during the sub-vi's run it'll be read at the start of the next loop iteration.

If you run the VI in Highlight mode (the light bulb on the toolbar) you should see that happens.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,545 Views)

Thanks for your answer. However I don't have the same issue when using a case structure, as you can see in the file attached. In this VI the output reacts to the boolean input. If I press the button the motor moves (thats what the SubVI does), and if I release it, it stops automatically. I'm trying to stop the motor with the while loop just like I can with the button in this scenario. Are you sure this is an issue with the SubVI?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,518 Views)

Please do not share Image/SnapShot, Its good to share code/Snippet for the forum users understand your problem easily.

In your Latest image it will skip executing subVI so that it will respond immediately, but which is not the case in earlier one.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Palanivel Thiruvenkadam | பழனிவேல் திருவெங்கடம்