LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please Critique My Code

Hi.  I am new to LabVIEW and was wondering if anyone could offer me advice on how to make my code more efficient.  I know I could have done things more easily, and I was wondering if I could have some advice from some of you experts. 

Let me first describe what I am trying to do:  I need to take temperature measurements from several thermocouples (eventually three) for an extended period of time (up to 40 hours) and I need to take them at a very slow rate (once every 5 or 10 minutes).  I also need to write these points to a text file.  The acquisition for the thermocouples must be made independent from one another; I need to be able to start one test and then perhaps 20-30 hours later, start the next. 

My current program is set up for taking two thermocouple measurements.  The server file that I uploaded creates the virtual channels with the settings that I want, and writes the temperature data to two global variables.  The client file has three frames in the sequence: the first to reset and local variables and apply settings, the next for acquisition, and the last to close the file. 

That was just a rough summery.  If you can, please take a look at my program and give me any insight that you might have.  Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,702 Views)

Disco,

Here are some various thoughts and observations on your code.  First, I assume that the server is always running, sampling the thermocouples, and writing the current values to the variables.  The client looks like it waits for a period of time, and then reads out the current values from the variables.

Some thoughts:

1. It may be a complication to have a client and a server.  I think you could do all of this data taking and logging in one VI.  You may have other reasons for wanting it this way, but it seems to be unnecessary.