LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opening Re-entrant sub VI front panel from main Vi front panel.

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Labview (have been using it a while but not done anything particularly challenging yet!) so my approach may not be correct. I have created a VI that reads input from a data channel on a cRIO and then logs it to an excel sheet and I'm pleased that it is working as intended. This VI only logs a single channel however and for the final version of this program I will need to log 150 channels simultaneously and display the data on a front panel (data includes channel no., a plot, and a couple of Boolean indicators and is also where you input channel name and formulate the log file path). The other key requirement is that you must be able to stop, start, rename, and restart logging on each channel, essentially allowing you to hot-swap the input source to a new log file without affecting other channels. 

Essentially I want to copy and paste my code 150 times with the front panel to create the program but obviously that isn't ideal as if I need to change the logging code then all channels will need changing manually. I have created the logging VI as a re-entrant subVI and copy pasted that and the program works as intended. The issue is that I have no way of opening the re-entrant VI front panels where the graphs and certain parameters are located during run time. I can open them by double clicking from the block diagram but that obviously wont be available / suitable during program run time. Using the invoke node I can make the subVI show /  hide the front panel however this affects all clones of that subVI at once and not the specific clone I want to target.

First question: How can I display / hide the reentrant subVI front panel for a specific clone at will? 

Second question: Is this an XY problem - is there a better way of doing this and am I making this more difficult for myself?

0 Kudos