cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI 9215/ cRIO 9037 multiple modules data acquisition and logging

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, 

I am new to LabVIEW FPGA. I am using cRIO9037. My project is to acquire data for multiple analog modules NI9215. Sampling rate 2KHz. I used the examples to build the template. The example program which acquires data from 1 module (4ch) works well, however when I try to add on other modules (all the modules are NI9215), I am not able to figure out the changes that must be done. What changes should I make? Can I get a help over this?  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,433 Views)

I cant open the VIs but from the picture I can see 8 channels over 2 modules on the FPGA, does this work OK?

In general, to add new modules, you need to add them to project under the FPGA, then you can drag the IO nodes into the block diagram.

The example you have seems to be multiplexing the data from multiple channels into the DMA FIFO to the RT (you feed them in one at a time, as this is the fast end, then on the RT you bulk read them as an array, then decimate it back into the channel data). this is the only wat to keep up in many situations.

Its worth noting that on the old CRIO systems there were only 3 DMA fifos, so heavy multiplexing in code is common. Depending on the application and data requirements, on newer targets you can get away with multiplexing less by splitting the load over more DMA channels.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,413 Views)

Thanks for your reply. 

I have added the FPGA I/O modules by dragging and dropping them. My project in total has 5 modules (4ch each). I wanted to try acquiring data from the first two modules so that I can apply the same for the rest. However, I am not able to solve it and find where I had made a mistake. 

The example works fine for 1 module (4ch each). I would like to have the same for the rest of the analog modules. 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,404 Views)