LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple Queues

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to labview and a problem running two queues as producers/consumers, see sample VI. I am inserting data first into the first queue, later into the second queue and want to process the data later in the consumer loop (comparing data 1 with data 2). What am I missing??

Thanks

Thomas

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(9,438 Views)

Thomas,

if producer and consumer are the same loop each (like in your screenshot), there is absolutely no sense to create two queues. Just use a single one.

The problem is that you have to feed both queues and dequeue both queues in order to keep both loops running.

hope this helps,

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(9,422 Views)

Sorry, I forgot to mention, that the data sets for the two queues are not the same. The data for queue 1 is from one source and the data for queue 2 is from another source. Once I have both sets of data, i want to compare the data in the consumer loop.

Thomas

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(9,417 Views)

Ok, but still, if you have two queues in a single loop without timeouts, you have to have the same amount of elements in both queues, otherwise the "bigger" one will run full (leading to out of memory errors).

So if the consumer reads from two different queues, use a timeout for each read. Make sure that you do not compare if one of the reader ran into timeout.

All in all, i am not sure if you are trying the best setup here. As stated above, queues are not the best thing to use multiple times in a single loop.....

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(9,413 Views)