LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview Serial data request/read

I am working to program a data output caliper (Starrett 798) through usb. I have never tried to request data before so I am not sure where to start. The caliper has an spc connection and I have an spc to usb converter cable going to my computer. I want to record time and the distance measurement, so im thinking the structure should be like use port# with this baud/even parity, 7 data and 2 stop bit' then request data in a time stamped loop. I have found a request data function but don't think its correct. any help is much appreciated

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371599L-01/lvfpga/fpga_mem_method_request/

CG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,967 Views)
SPC connection? What do you mean by that? Is it a USB to Serial (i.e. does it show up as a COM port in Device Manager) connection? If yes, you should use the VISA functions to read/write data to/from the device. Look in the LabVIEW Examples under VISA and you should find something to get you started (Help -> Example Finder).

The link you posted is for when you are communicating with a LabVIEW FPGA device - which probably isn't the case.

You might also want to check with the manufacturer of the device to see if they have LabVIEW drivers / instrument drivers available. At the very least, you will want to have the manual for the device handy as it will give you the connection properties (e.g. baud rate) and detail the protocol for what commands to send / responses the device supports.

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(4,936 Views)

The last time I played with SPC outputs on micrometers/calipers I looked at the VBA macros the vendor provided for use with MS Excel.  Does Starret provide anything like this?

Jim
You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are. ~ Alice