LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabView user-event from external dll source

Andrey,

Would it be possible to post your code for the example shown? I've studied the linkyou referenced and while it's very similar to your example, it's not quite the same. It would be helpful to see how it's done with numerics rather than strings. I'm pretty new to callbacks and all the information I can get would be helpful.

George

0 Kudos
Message 21 of 57
(3,963 Views)
For a numeric you simply pass a pointer to the correct type of numeric to PostLVUserEvent(). That means a pointer to double or float or one of the integer types depending what type of numeric you used to to configure the user event in the LabVIEW diagram.
Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 22 of 57
(3,962 Views)

Since I know very little C I thought it would be helpful to see the C code (the LV part is completely obvious to me). I'm sure what you said would be totally obvious to someone intimately familiar with such procedures, but not me. Since this is a fairly unique application there's not a lot of other places to look for information. There are several things being setup in the LVUserEvent example and I'm not sure which of them need to change for a different data type.The MixeCluster example in another thread probably explains some of what I need - and I'll study it some more, but the added complexity of the cluster adds another layer of confusion that I don't need right now.

George

0 Kudos
Message 23 of 57
(3,956 Views)

The Create User Event function node has an input called "user event data type". This is were you define the datatype of the associated data element that goes with the event. This data type has to match the data type you pass to PostLVUserEvent, otherwise bad things happen.