LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW Write to File Formatting

Hello everyone, I'm very new to LabVIEW and have only had self teaching experience. I am writing a program for an Agilent 81640A laser and have completed just about the whole thing accept for one part. I cannot get the formatting right in the write to file palette. 

The data im trying to write comes in very small values, and I'm not entirely sure how to work with the limitations of precision in LabVIEW.

In the first picture, the data gets one digit smaller and starts skipping cells when its writing the data. ( %.10f)

The second picture is at (%.9f) and then it doesn't writing all of the data, it stops at E- for example.

The third picture is how I'm writing the data.

I've also tried leaving (%f) but it just skips every line at that point.

Any advice?  Thank you in advanced.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(3,121 Views)

Try using scientific notation %.9e

or engineering notation %^.9e

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(3,104 Views)

Where are you initially creating that array of strings?  That is likely where your problem is.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(3,100 Views)

I've done it like that before and it gives me the same issues. Although I haven't tried %^.9e so i'll give that a whirl. I'll let you know how it goes.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 21
(3,097 Views)

I tried it with %^.9e and I got the same issue as the issue in the second picture i posted where it wont write all of the data. 234.56789E-  for example.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 21
(3,084 Views)

I just noticed that the wire going to the "write spreadsheet file" is pink. That means the data is already formatted as a string so the specifier should be %s

0 Kudos