From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW TCP Read throws timeout error

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello All,

I have a challenge while implementing TCP on LabView. Though I have worked on LabView, I am new to TCP protocol on LabView.

My requirement is - I have an controller connected to ethernet and i know the IP and Port of the controller. i have created below VI and TCP read always gets timeout. I know i am missing something but not clear on what i am missing. My Expected output at TCP Read is a string (password prompt). Can anyone guide me on how to proceed.

GirishVrishab_0-1652676408129.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(1,825 Views)

Is it a requirement to use the native LabVIEW TCP palette?  It would be a lot easier to use LabVIEW System Exec.vi instead.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(1,813 Views)

I have tried with LabVIEW System Exec.vi. But challenge here is LabVIEW System Exec.vi is not interactive i.e., i need to send user name and wait for password prompt and then send Password. Instead it Opens a command prompt and doesnt pass control back to Labview for sending password. Similarly, after login, i need to send multiple commands to my controller. Hence i thought Labview TCP pallete is the only solution. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(1,801 Views)

Although I never used it this way, PuTTY for Windows has both an option for specifying a password (-pw) and an option for executing a script (-m).

Paolo
-------------------