LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

K&L LabVIEW programming

Solved!
Go to solution

I am in the process of trying to remotely control a K&L bandpass filter.  Their programming manual is very vague, and I'm new to these types of devices.  Their manual suggests that the commands are simply bit, or byte, strings.

To get status, byte 0 is set to decimal 1.  The command is byte 1, and set to decimal 8.  Byte 2 is the command size and set to a decimal 32.  Byte 3 is set to 0.  So, I'm assuming that I need to transmit a command formatted thusly:

00000001000000100010000000000000CR

The box doesn't not respond, and the connection times out.

I've even tried hex

01082000CR

And I get nothing back.  Does anyone have any experience with K&L Microwave LPI bandpass filters that might be able to put me on the right track?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,950 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author RT1956

Do you have a manual from K&L?  I checked their Web site, but without knowing the exact model number, I couldn't find "generic" information on their tunable filters.  Sounds like your best bet (unless one of us has direct experience) is to contact K&L for more information.

Bob Schor

P.S. -- the easiest way to "tinker" with a device and try to see what makes it tick is to connect it (you don't say what sort of connection you are using) to your PC, fire up MAX, and see if it can "see" your device (it may be on a COM or Visa port).  If so, you can easily send strings to it, and see what, if anything, it returns to you.  You can easily experiment with end-of-line characters (does it want \r, \n, \r\n, \n\r?) and other things.

Message 2 of 10
(3,942 Views)

It sounds like you need something like this.  Of course, I am assuming a serial port is used for communications.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines