LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Indicator value to be changed by user while program is running

I have a numeric indicator that gives the relative time in hours, minutes and seconds.

While the program is running I want to change the values and then press an OK button so that the values remain changed.

How can this be achieved?

mhaque

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,845 Views)

You can't change an indicator of a running VI from the front panel directly. You must use another control to accept the value you want to set and then write the value to the indicator.

Message 2 of 18
(3,839 Views)

Although the event structure gets the job done, it cannot be used as part of a subVI.

Are there any other ways to change the indicator value?

Perhaps using a value change property node? I do not know much about property nodes since I am very new to LAbVIEW. Perhaps somebody can point me in the right direction.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(3,818 Views)

You didn't say anything about a subVI. Next time provide "little" details like that, as they change the answer dramatically.

What's the purpose of the subVI, and why are you using a subVI? Yes, you can use control references to access control/indicators of a parent VI from a subVI. Open the Example Finder (Help -> Find Examples) and search for "properties". Open the example called "Property Nodes". That example shows a reference to a graph being passed into a subVI.

Message 4 of 18
(3,816 Views)

Sorry Boss, when I get 10K hits I promise to provide all the "little" details. Still very new to LabVIEW as you can see.

My indicators are essentially an array of elapsed time. There are 12 arrays like this. I want the option of editing this array, taking away hours, adding hours, making it zero, etc.

I guess using the term "SubVI" is inappropriate (much like Britney Spear's music videos). Sorry about that.

Knight to the rescue?

mhaque

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 18
(3,809 Views)