LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to save data from an analog input to a file using the NI 9230 FPGA module

Greetings,

I am extremely new to Labview so apologies for any misconceptions I have. 

I am currently working on a project which requires me to collect acceleration data using an accelerometer. I am feeding this data through the NI 9230 module. Given it is an FPGA module I have to program it to manipulate the data so I can save it. However since the NI 9230 Module requires start/stop to collect a sample, I cannot use acquisition methods such as the many tutorials I have found on the internet. Image1 actually displays the data in the form of a numerical value that changes over time.

If someone could help me program the FPGA to write the data to a file and to modify the sample frequency so that I can collect a sample every nth second, that would be much appreciated.

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,620 Views)

Welcome!

Can you please share some more info on your hardware, i.e. what the 9230 is plugged into (90xx). Maybe there's an easier way to do this.

If it is indeed in a cRIO 903x and lower, note that the FPGA does not write to file directly. You'd have to pass it to the real time controller, where you'd be able to write to file, e.g. with "Write delimited Spreadsheet.vi". I assume, that's what the FIFO is for. I also assume that you see some data right now, which is the interactive front panel communication and you should not use that in the finished program.

If you can give some more info on your setup, you'll surely find help here.

Remember Cunningham's Law
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,587 Views)

Thank you for the quick response

The chassis system is an NI cRIO-9066. I attached some images of the chassis and the module.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(2,572 Views)