LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to graph joystick coordinate in real time?

Hello all,

I am new to the Labview software and am trying to make a program using the software that graphs a joystick's Y axis inputs onto a graph in the program.  I would like the x axis to represent the time elapsed since the program started and the y axis to represent the position of the joystick. Can anybody point me in the right direction to start? Thank you. (I am using a Thrustmaster joystick)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,874 Views)

There is a sub vi in LabVIEW that could get you the coordinate info of mouse/joystick, and you can plot the y axis with time. Just search "mouse" in the example.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,859 Views)

Joysticks are a little different from Keyboards and Mice, but have a set of VIs that are lumped with these two input devices.  If you Google "LabVIEW Joystick", you'll fine a VI that shows how to set up a Joystick and take a single reading.  You will probably want to add a While Loop with a Wait Timer to take multiple readings and graph them.

Note that not all Joysticks will show up in LabVIEW.  There's a suggestion on the LabVIEW Idea Exchange here that I posted about 5 years ago and reposted last year when not enough people "Kudo-ed" it to nudge NI into fixing this problem.  If you intend to use joysticks, I recommend you read the Idea and Kudo it.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,842 Views)

Do you have problems reading the joystick, or problems graphing the data, or both.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(3,833 Views)

the program is reading the joystick inputs, I am having trouble graphing this data as a function of elapsed time

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(3,825 Views)

If the points are randomly spaced in time, you probably want to use an xy graph and build the xy data (e.g. as a complex 1D array) in a shift register. Do you want absolute or relative time? What is the max number of points?

0 Kudos