LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I exit from an FP Advise vi - cFP

Hi All, I am fairly new to compact field point and am attempting to setup an "on change" Digital Input event.

I have written some test code and I have had success in getting the core main functionality to work.

[For this concept code I have wired DO 1 into D1 1]

fp advise.png

The problem that I have encountered is how to stop the "FP advise.vi" when I am finished with it.

The only example I could find was for LV 5.0 which I couldn't open.

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/2012

The vi help advises:

"Caution  Do not use the FP Advise (Polymorphic) VI in nonreentrant subVIs".

I think that this is a clue, unfortunately, it is a bit too subtle for me.

Thanks In advance.

Tim L

iTm - Senior Systems Engineer
uses: LABVIEW 2012 SP1 x86 on Windows 7 x64. cFP, cRIO, PXI-RT
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,657 Views)

Hello Tim,

No problem being new, we all had to start somewhere and you came to the right place :-). I'm a bit confused about your architecture, calling two FP Advise VI's for the same DI channel. But in general so far as terminating the FP Advise, I looked a bit more closely at the help page for this VI, noting the terminate advise input terminal, "terminate advise specifies whether to terminate the advise operation. This terminal should be set to FALSE until the final iteration of the loop containing the VI, then set to TRUE to shut down the background process". You could achieve this by wiring your same stop button boolean here.

Otherwise, if you call a FP Close VI at the end of execution, it causes the corresponding FP Advise VI to execute one last time and stop. Make sure that any error wires used as inputs to the FP Close VI aren't dependent on the FP Advise code. Using execution highlighting, you can see the FP Advise VI complete without any further value change.