From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can you split a byte in 8 bits?

Hello all,

I am a student in my training period working with Labview.
I made a tcp/ip connection in labview with socket workbench,
For testing i am sending 1 byte at the time to labview. Labview recieves that byte and i can see it.
Now i want to split that byte in labview in 8 bits.
(For example to read the outputs of a PLC)

Does someone know how to do this? or is there a standard example in labview to do this?

greets, mukkel

Message Edited by mukkel on 09-09-2005 02:27 AM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(25,761 Views)
Perhaps the attachment below will help

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(25,733 Views)

In TCP, LV uses a bytestream represented as a string. To see the actual bits, you need to convert the string to an array of numbers (String to Byte Array VI), then extract the number you want (Index Array. If there is only one byte, it will be the first element in the array) and change it into a boolean array (Number to Boolean Array). These VIs can be found in the String>>Additional..., Array and Boolean palettes. Pretty simple, huh?

To learn more about LabVIEW, I suggest you try searching this site and google for LabVIEW tutorials. Here and here are a couple you can start with. You can also contact your local NI office and join one of their courses.
In addition, I suggest you read the LabVIEW style guide and the LabVIEW user manual (Help>>Search the LabVIEW Bookshelf).

Message Edited by tst on 09-09-2005 10:44 AM

Hello Mukkel,

I think the attached VI does what you need, the function, of course comes bilt-in with LabVIEW.

We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.

Epictetus