LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I programatically draw new circles on a picture control

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I am fairly new to LV and to programming in general. I'm creating a program to get better. In this program I have balls bouncing around on a picture control. I use an array to keep track of my ball's position (x,y) and another to track their speed. I want that each time a ball reaches the border of the picture, it splits into 2 balls. My problem is that I can't find a way to programatically add these new balls because each draw circle vis need to be serialy linked and then drawn onto the picture. What am I missing?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,558 Views)

You'll need a For Loop in your innermost loop that iterates through drawing each of the balls.  Keep track of the balls in an array.  If you only have 1 ball, the For Loop runs once.  If you have 2 balls, the loop will run twice.  Four, it will run 4 times.  Each time a ball splits, you add the new ball to the array.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,555 Views)

In addition to what RavensFan says, right click on the for loop and Add Shift Register.  Wire in your picture to this shift register and it will pass the picture to the next iteration of the loop. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,545 Views)

Thank you RavensFan and aputman!

I had thought of the for loop, but couldn't figure out how to all add them to the same picture. I think the shift register is what I was missing.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(3,537 Views)