LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generators in Labview (lazy programming)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to LabVIEW and have some programming experience in Python.

In Python, I have learned about generators, which are functions that effectively return a list of elements, however the elements are computed and returned one-at-a-time. The use of generators is known as lazy programming (because values are never computed before you need them), which I find extremely useful.

I would like to implement this behavior in Labview. For example, I already have a VI that continuously acquires camera images. I want to obtain these images one-at-a-time and analyze them in real-time. This means that first building an array of all camera images is not a solution for me. I also don't want to merge my VI's together because I want my code to remain modular and readable.

Is there any way to achieve this in LabVIEW?

Thanks,

Kasper

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(1,395 Views)

Hi Kasper,

what about a producer-consumer scheme based on a queue?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(1,388 Views)

"I want to obtain these images one-at-a-time and analyze them in real-time"

I would probably use channel wires. No need for extra wires in a producer/consumer using a queue. It's all built-in. Start here.

Certified LabVIEW Architect
Message 3 of 13
(1,376 Views)

Thank you so much, a stream channel seems what i am looking for. Could you explain how I can make this for two separate VIs? The link you showed has everything in one vi

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(1,370 Views)

Isn't that called Lazy Evaluation?

Anyway, you can separate the producer and consumer(s) with either (user) events or queues.

This will start to resemble a producer\consumer pattern.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 13
(1,366 Views)

@KasperWUR wrote: