LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Event Structure Affecting External Logic?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am currently a student working with LabVIEW for the first time this semester.  I am working on a program where we must require a password to arm a home security system.  Right or wrong I was attempting to do this with an event structure.  In the attached program I am triggering an event structure off of the Boolean arm/disarm button.  My intent is that when the button is on and the password that the user is prompted for is correct, the system is armed.  When the button is off and the password is correct, the system is disarmed.  If the password is incorrect, neither is true.  To test this out I have created the very basic program attached.  

The problem that is driving me crazy is the logic outside of my event structure.  When the password is true and the button is on (T/T) my first AND logic operator (top) is reporting F...  The exact opposite of what I would expect.  The same is true for my bottom logic operator when the button is off and the password is true. 

Am I missing something here?  Is the event somehow affecting the logic operators outside of the event structure?   

caklinedinst_0-1669922868459.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,038 Views)

Hi cakline,

@caklinedinst wrote:

Am I missing something here? 

Yes: DATAFLOW (and race conditions)...

When is the button read and when is the event happening?

Did you try to debug your VI using probes and highlighting?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(1,002 Views)
Solution
Accepted by caklinedinst