LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Encryption using Fast Fourier Transform

Greetings to the NI community

I am to transmit an encrypted text file and receive the decrypted text file using USRP 2932. I am a student beginner to the LabVIEW. I found a paper on the FFT encryption of a text file which can be found attached. I am struggling with its understanding as it does not contain copious documentation of the VI's. It is a humble request out there to kindly help me explain the Encryption and Decryption VI's. I am attaching the SC of the VI's also. I know it's a shot in the dark but i would really appreciate any help.

Thanks and regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,721 Views)

My advice would be to contact the authors.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,688 Views)

In general, I would not trust authors that can't even spell LabVIEW correctly. Some of the code shown on the attached picture is completely silly. Encrypting 8 bits into CDB or CSG seems very inefficient, same for encrypting plain text into formatted numerics spread over two files. There is no obvious encryption/decryption key, so it is basically security by obscurity

(Decryptor: Mostly useless sequence structure, That shift register in the rightmost loop serves no purpose, all you get is the string from the last iteration, etc. Why so much DBL and CDB if all you keep is 8 bits

Encryptor: Mostly useless sequence structure, all calculations to determine N should be blue. That coercion dot on the subVI worries me, etc.)

Do you have a generic need for encryption or do you really want to tackle some questionable old code using an obscure algorithm with no track record? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,659 Views)

Those VI's call a sub VI. All the magic happens in there... Post those sub VI's if you want to know how they work.

Seems to me that PDF explains it all. But as it's written in typical academic lingo, you probably need a (specific) PhD to fully appreciate it.