cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ELL18K Rotation Stage Bundle - LabView Controller get current position

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello LabView Community,

I just started using LabView in university and am now tasked with building a rotation stage controller, which will later be mounted with a neutral density wheel. 
I got it working pretty well and can move the stage around how I want to, the only problem is, that I can not get it to display its current position in LabView. If I use a "VISA Write" prompt and give the stage the command "0gp" it should give me its current position in hexadecimal, but the return count in the "VISA Write" is only an integer, so I don't know how to continue. 

I attached the VI, so you can take a look at it and maybe even give me general feedback, as I am new to LabView.

Cheers,
Karl

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(802 Views)

Welcome to the LabVIEW Forums, Leo.

A nice thing about LabVIEW is it really is an Engineering Workbench (the last two letters of "LabVIEW").  What is probably going on is a VISA communication issue.  I can't look at your code because I'm a long-term LabVIEW User, and our "team" are all using LabVIEW 2019, and so I cannot open your VI and look at your code.  [You can fix this by using the "Save for Previous Version" option and specifying LabVIEW 2019, which should be readable by LabVIEW 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, and 2023].

Here's how you can "explore the options":

1. Plug in your rotation stage controller.
  2. Open MAX (NI's Measurement and Automation Explorer) and select your VISA port in Devices and Interfaces.
  3. Open a Test Panel.
  4. [I don't have a VISA Device here to test this on, so the following steps are more-or-less from memory, so I'll stop numbering and go into more of a narrative].