cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Display Series of Images at 60Hz in "Slideshow Mode"

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I am trying to display a series of 100 images as a slideshow with a constant delay between each picture. I am trying to get the framerate of the slide show to be about 60Hz (or as fast as Labview can do). I'm not too sure how fast the fps of my slideshow is right now, but it does not look to be 60Hz (it looks much slower). 

I have looked up some possible solutions to what I assume a bottleneck in opening and drawing a jpg image. One solution I read was an image buffer. I'm not too sure how to implement this. I am new to Labview, so any help in finding an elegant solution would be appreciated. Thank you!

(1): Pseudo code of what I am trying to do

for(i=0; i<Num_pictures; i++){
 display(array_of_pictures[i]);
 wait(20ms); //this would give me a fps of 50. If I could achieve this, it would be great.
}

(2) My block diagram 

block1.PNG

(3): For your reference, this is the first picture I display. I am trying to display 100 images. The white block is 10x10, and moves across the black screen (100x100) left to right until it ends up at the bottom right corner.

fig00.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,823 Views)

Hi agin,

why don't you follow your own pseudocode?

To improve execution speed you should load all images into memory first - before showing them in the loop!

And please use the autoindexing behaviour of loops

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 18
(3,771 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thank you, I will look into how to use the auto-index. I am curious about how to load all images into memory first? 

Thanks,

agin

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(3,763 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author agin

Hi agin,

how to load all images into memory first?

Well, use an additional loop to load all images.

Then start the current loop iterating over all images…

Best regards,