cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Different messages on string Display

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Community

I have a problem and i hope you can help to me. 

I am a newbie for programming on labview.

Now i have a temperature measurement and i want show on a string display element if the degress is 0-30 celsius „water is cold“, if the degress is between 31-100 celsius the „water is hot“. If it's under 0 degress the „water it's iced“. 

Do i need a case? how can i make this messages? i use daq assistant for read the degress. multiplication 100 for the degress in celsius. 

thanks in advance. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,046 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Bkay

A very simple problem. Have you done some of the basic LabVIEW tutorials?

• No, you don't need a case structure (... but there are also solutions that use a case structure, of course).
  • You need to define the problem more exactly, for example what should happen if the temperature is 30.5C? What should happen if the temperature is >100C (it is possible to have superheated water!)
  • You have a limited set of messages (3), so write them once into a string array diagram constant and index into it based on temperature, then wire the element to the string indicator.

Maybe this old example can give you some ideas. I am sure you can modify it for your scenario.

altenbach_0-1628613650226.png

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(1,035 Views)

There is more than one way to do what you want. I can think of at least two ways: using a case structure or using a select node.