cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Loss in Serial Read Using Labview Visa

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear

I am a student major in Mechanism Engeering, and my English is not very well....sorry for my poor English.

I try to read the JY61 data from UART using Labview Visa. The specific description of JY61 is in the attached PDF file. (mainly focus on Page 9-10)

I modify the example "Continuous Serial Write and Read.VI".

The data format is 33byte, and begain with 55 51.  I set the read byte of Visa Read is 33, however, the data missing sometimes. 

The code is attached. 

This issue bothered me more than three weeks. Could anyone give me some advices? Thank you very much!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,912 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Tianci

You need to set the termination character to False.  It seems like you are receiving binary data, which means any of the values from 0-255 are possibly valid data.  If you have to get a byte of value 10 decimal (the default termination character of line feed), your message will come up short, and anything after that line feed character will show up in the next VISA read throwing everything out of whack.

Also, why are you taking two string constants and concatenating them together?  Just put 5152 in to a single constant and you can eliminate 2 out of the 3 nodes!

Also, when a string constant is set to a mode other than normal, you should make the display style visible so it is obvious to the programmer and others reviewing the program that it is set for hex style.

Message 2 of 5
(1,903 Views)

I set the termination character to False, and it works.

Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(1,886 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Tianci