LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a new excel using an existing .xlsx template with each run/instance

The issue I am facing with this is that there is no new file created in the specified folder. Even the existing file does not have data added to it (though I have managed to do that separately, but that's not my desired outcome right now).

I want to use an existing .xlsx template, write data into its Sheet2 (to link to Sheet1) and save it as a new .xlsx file with a different filename (using datetime to differentiate). I'm using LabVIEW 2022 (32-bit). Apologies for any obvious mistakes, I'm fairly new to this software.

LVSnippet.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,484 Views)

To build a Path for a file, you should use the Build Path function.  I really dislike using a TimeStamp as a file name:  it gives you no clue what data the file contains, it is hard to sort, confusing to the eye to read, etc. 

To keep my files-of-the-same-type-of-information straight, I use the "Incrementing Suffix" function, which has (for my use) one tiny flaw -- if there are no files with the same name, it creates a file without a suffix.  I fix this by "wrapping" my own code around this function -- I create the file, and see if the "created name" is the same as the "starting name".  If so, I create it again (causing a name with the (001) sufffix to be generated) and delete the suffix-less name.  I don't remember, but you should probably close the un-suffixed file before deleting it.

Here's a Snippet:

Build Path + Incrementing Suffix.png

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(1,445 Views)

@ashfeq :

Are you sure LV has the correct write privileges in the target folder? No error reported?

I replicated your code on my PC and the new file gets created correctly...

(yes, there are 'more elegant' ways of building a filepath 😉 )

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(1,433 Views)

Things to check: