cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Convert image to one dimensional radial array

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey everyone,

Thansk for taking the time to look at this. 

Here is the issue, the code I am running is working, but I think it could be made to run faster I am just not sure how to rewrite the algorithm to do so. I am taking an image (seen in screen shot, left panel top figure) that is symmetric about the center point. What I am trying to do is collapse all of the data in this image into a one dimensional array that is a radial representation of that image (screen shot, right panel top figure). The code I am currently using is seen in the bottom figure. One subtly that might be confusing is the multiple by 4 factor in the middle of the code, this was there when I started programming and I am assuming it is a scaling factor that is used to sort of spread the data over more array elements in the subsequence one dimensional array. As you can see the code is effectively working, but on average this operation is working on a 56x56 px image, so the code has to run 3136 times and I don't feel this is the most effiencient way possible, the code takes around 1 ms to run for a 56x56 px image on our machine. Please let me know if you have any suggestions on how to speed things up, this is half the bottle neck for our realtime analysis!

Thanks,

Joe

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(5,126 Views)

Hi!

I tried to rearrange your loop by simplifying certain passages.

Try to see if it works, but I am not sure how faster it can run.

In the VI you also put a "Set up loop parallelism" label; since you are updating the same arrays through the shift registers the loop parallelism should not work.

MikeNuke, PhD

Politecnico di Milano
Department of Energy, Nuclear Engineering Division
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(5,073 Views)