LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Code best practice question LV2013

Solved!
Go to solution

I am still fairly new to LabVIEW programming and I have been learning from the online self paced classes. I started in June of 2012.

I am currently working on a new program front panel (host) vi and I am trying to determine a better way to implement a certain section of my code so that it works the way I would like it too. This vi is being designed for a touchscreen interface so all user input is touch screen input.

What I want the code to do: the code is designed so when the user presses the command button on the front panel vi it creates an information pop-up window explaining the parameters for input. The user pushes the OK button (closes the info pop-up) and opens a new sub-vi that is a numeric keypad. If the user input is within the accepted parameters then when 'enter' is pushed the sub-vi closes and inputs the value to a numeric indicator. If the user inputs an incorrect value, then the keypad sub-vi closes and another info window pops up informing the user 'incorrect value - re-enter value' user hits the OK button and closes the info box and reopens the keypad sub-vi. This cycle should continue until the operator inputs a valid value.