cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Build a table - multicolumn listbox

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I want to build a table with some numeric controls and ring and enum. 

The values set above (in the numeric controls) should then be inserted into the multicolumn listbox (table) via the "Add" button. The "Change" button should allow the values entered in the table to be changed again. The "Delete" button should delete the row from the table.

Unfortunately, I am a beginner and don't know labview very well. I hope someone can help me and give me tips on how to create such a table.
In the attached picture you can see how the table should look at the end.

Thanks a lot!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(1,986 Views)

@Leamri wrote:

Unfortunately, I am a beginner and don't know labview very well. 

I recommend the learning resources listed at the top of the forum.

(I'll have a look at your VI later)

Message 2 of 13
(1,953 Views)

(OK, now I am at a computer where I can actually open VIs saved in LabVIEW 2021)

Your VI makes absolutely no sense. All you have is a greedy loop that consumes 100% of a CPU code doing nothing. Please never delete the label of front panel objects, you can hide the stop button label by "right-click...visible item...label". If you delete the label instead, you have terminal without the label, making the code potentially confusing and even prevents you from ever using locals or events in any reasonable way. Pressing a "stop" button to start the instrument IO is just not intuitive!

You need a proper state machine with a toplevel while loop, keeping the 2D string array in a shift register where you can add/change/delete rows based on the selection (the "value of a listbox" is the selected row!). Now you should use an event structure with events for the various buttons and modify the string array accordingly, then writing them to the listbox.

Message 3 of 13
(1,944 Views)
Solution