cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Arduino VISA read binary data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I am quite new with LAbView and I am struggling with the reading of binary data from Arduino.

I have an Arduino DUE which sends two values int16 to the serial port, each loop. So I have to read from serial and parse 2 and 2 bytes.

I have 2 question:

• Does VISA read read binary data? As I can see, it reads only ASCII strings, how can I make it read bytes?
  • How can I parse my two signal and then rapresent them  separately?

I attach my block diagram, which doesn't work (I did it for strings).

Thank you for your time!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,309 Views)

Technically all data is binary.

First you need to disable the termination character.  If you are getting 2 INT16 values as a total 4 bytes, you'll wind up getting a short message if one of those bytes is equal to the termination character.  You can get rid of the property node that sets the ASRL End Out termination character.

What does the data look like in the string control?  If it is truly binary, as in not human readable, you don't want to string, but to typecast it.

Attach an actual VI instead of a picture.  Save the data that shows up in the "numeric data" string as the default in that control before saving the VI and attaching it to your message.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,296 Views)

@tyar97 wrote:
  • Does VISA read read binary data? As I can see, it reads only ASCII strings, how can I make it read bytes?

Common misconception.  VISA Read just reads bytes.  The indicators just default to show strings in ASCII.  You can change them to show Hex data or "/ Codes" to make it more obvious.

@tyar97 wrote:
  • How can I parse my two signal and then rapresent them  separately?

Use Unflatten From String with an array of I16 as the data type and you will get an array with your two data points.

Some other issues I see: