cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alicat Error 1073807339 VISA Read

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi guys!

I have an issue which somebody out there might have a solution to. In my setup, I am using an Alicat Mass Flow Controller and LabVIEW to communicate/control the MFC. As I am somewhat new to LabVIEW, the "Alicat Simplified Driver Example_Setpoint.vi" has been our test bench for troubleshooting. Everything has been working great until my boss and I were bug testing. We momentary unplugged the USB - 8 Pin DIN cable from the Alicat device to simulate a loss of communication between the devices. What happened next was the dreaded "Error 1073807339"!

I have isolated the problem to the VISA Read function within the "Read Mesurements.vi". This .vi is located within the while loop of the block diagram. My understanding of the problem is that LabVIEW is trying to communicate with a device at the current VISA path, but no longer finds the device at that path. From this, it throws up an error.

I was hoping somebody could point me towards some material with information on error handling or maybe you have encountered and fixed this problem yourself. My boss and I would like LabVIEW to display a message saying ex. "Device *Name here* is unplugged from *Comport here*", and for LabVIEW to hold itself in a "Pause state", instead of crashing.

I have attached the VI's below.

One important thing to note. The device I am using right now is a 64 bit Mac, which does not open the attached files because LabVIEW loves VISA support on 64 bit Mac systems! I will be able to open the files until tomorrow when I have access to the lab machine, but I am trying to get a head start with solving the problem.

Thank you,

Huntr

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,138 Views)

I have seen USB devices pick-up a new Com port number when uplugged and then replugged.

NI stuff (for the most part) avoids that problem by tracking the serial number of the widget.