From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Add text string to a textbox that already exists in a Powerpoint Template

Solved!
Go to solution

So I am a novice to labview Activex for powerpoint. My goal is to use a powerpoint template that is already prefilled. I want to get the strings from a file and  open the powerpoint template to fill in the rest.  I followed the example in the link below but somehow when I get to the part where I want to select a method that would allow me to add the string I can't find any. the closest I found is ADDTEXTEFFECT but that doesnt work for me.. Any suggestion on how to add text to the existing textbox in the template with my own font type and size and position.

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Add-jpg-to-Powerpoint-slides/td-p/1676338

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(4,095 Views)

If you post your code somebody might be able to help you find the solution.

Ben64

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(4,038 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ritch_by_nature

OK, I took a look at the link and used the existing code as a starting point. You won't find any Add TextBox method because there is no such thing as aTextBox object in PP ActiveX. A TextBox is a Shape Object. To acces it use the Item method of the selected slide Shapes Object. For the Item index you can either use a numeric value (based on the order the shapes were added to the slide) or the Shape Object name (which I recommend).

When you create the template you can edit the Shape Object name in the Selection Pane (Home Tab, Editing Section, click the small arrow at the right of "select" and click Selection Pane ...).

Here is a code example:

PP Add Text to TextBox.png

Ben64

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(4,029 Views)