cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

8451 I2C Loop Running Slowly When Reading Data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I have been searching the boards for a solution to my issue but have not been able to find an answer.

I have an ST LIS3DH accelerometer connected to the NI USB-8451 using the I2C interface.  I am simply trying to read the acceleration data from the chip and write to a file.  However, despite the fact that I tell the loop to execute every 1 ms, it seems that the fastest it can perform each read is approximately 12 ms (which is about 80Hz).  I am ultimately trying to collect data at 1000 - 5000 Hz which would mean executing the loop every 0.2 - 1 ms.

I am new to Labview and realize I might have some inefficiencies in my code.  I'm not sure if code optimization will be enough to fix the issue or if Labview or the 8451 just simply can't keep up at those speed.

I am running on the following system

Windows 7 64-bit

1st generation core i5

8GB RAM

Labview 2009

Any insight is apprecieated.

I have attached my vi and datasheet for the LIS3DH.  Thank you in advance for your help.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 25
(4,287 Views)

I only gave your code a quick glance, but it looks like you're writing to the file in the same loop that you're reading the data.  The combination of these two may take longer than you'd like.

It'd be best if you looking into using a producer/consumer architecture in order to seperate your reads from your writes.  I think there's an example that ships with LabVIEW that should get you started, plus you can search the forums and ni.com for tons more.

Good luck!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 25
(4,278 Views)